A Mayday tree beginning to blossom (same type of tree in my back yard!)

So the blog may be a little stagnant for awhile. Spring is beginning to officially be sprung if you know what I mean. I just raked up my garden yesterday again and I planted some stargazer lily bulbs into one of my pot containers.  With all this spring it means my days have been picking up as well.  My days have been 9-10 hours long for awhile now and next week they will be increasing to 10-11 hour days until the end of summer. I have to say I love my job and I do enjoy learning about plants and trees, I like training new employees and I like to be able to be a go-to person.  I have been working on getting my domestic pesticide license as well (by ‘working on’ I mean putting off studying before I have to write the test). Today I had to train two people at once, by lunch (at 3:00pm) I physically had a sore jaw from talking too much. Still, I go home feeling fulfilled and when I leave in the morning I don’t look against work at all, I find myself already gearing up on the way to work thinking about who I need to touch base with, what quotes I need to work on, and what things I might catch up on if the phones aren’t ringing off the hook and the customers aren’t crowding the desk.  I like being busy, especially after feeling like things have been so slow all winter but I have to admit that it is very exhausting.  This year I have a lot more responsibility on my shoulders and I don’t mind to work long days but it is physically and mentally draining and I often don’t feel like moving at all by the time I get home and sit down.  Even as I write this now my eyes are drooping..hahaha. I don’t write that to garner your pity, I only write it to let you know why you might hear less from me in the next few months.

Overall I would say that I’ve grown a lot in one year with this company and I feel like I have a future and some direction for the first time in my life.  My mother is witness to the many tears I’ve cried over my feelings of lack of direction and lack of goals.  Sometimes you just don’t figure stuff out as quickly as others and it takes some bouncing around to figure out where you should be and what direction you should head.  I really think that having to be completely independent changes your perspective about things. I still want to pursue my writing but for now God is giving me a tangible way to live and work and to be able to fend for myself in this big, sometimes unforgiving, intimidating world.  Not only does he provide for me but he allows me to enjoy the work he sets before me and that can only be interpreted as an immense blessing in my eyes. May you all know that joy to be your own in the daily tasks that God sets before you as well!

” Slaves, obey your earthly masters in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord.  Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward.  It is the Lord Christ you are serving.  Anyone who does wrong will be repaid for his wrong, and there is no favoritism.”

 – Colossians 3: 22-25

Just as a funny side note, one time when I was at work I was chatting with my boss and he said to me, “Thanks for looking out for me” (It was something about the peanuts he always eats out of the 25 cent candy dispenser, I can’t remember exactly what led to him saying that).  I responded to him, “Don’t worry, I think everyone around here is looking out for you…” He looked at me with a quizzical expression and I said to him, ” yeah, you know, ‘look out the boss is coming! Look busy!’ “. I was still pretty new at the time and the girl who was training me at the time was gaping at me with an expression of disbelief on her face.  I’m guessing that she probably couldn’t believe I had just said that to the head honcho and  I did have a brief moment of wondering if I had stepped over the line but was relieved when my boss just burst out laughing. I think he appreciated the inkling of truth in my joke.  You shouldn’t have to try to look busier when your boss is around, you should be able to just keep doing what your doing if your working the right way in my opinion. Anyways, that’s it and that’s all for today! Take care everyone!

