When I was younger I remember being terrified every time I had to get immunizations at school. Honestly, when I got the note about shots to take home to my parents it would turn into a week long production of tears, anxiety, and feelings of trepidation as the dreaded day closed in on me. I can remember agonizing about my measles shot, about my hepatitis shots, I was scared when I had to go get blood taken, sheesh, I can remember being nervous still in grade 9 to get shots. I’ve toughed up since… if screaming like a child before the needle has even touched me counts as tough…just kidding ūüôā ¬†My parents probably wished they didn’t have to deal with me like that but they knew that it was good for me. It kept me healthy, it fended off disease and even though it sucked to go through all those emotions every time that little pin-prick was a good thing as much as I thought it wasn’t.

Now here’s the thought, do we not, in our own lives, have anxiety, have tears, have feelings of trepidation because of the things that are going on in our lives? ¬†Sometimes God puts us through certain events in our lives because he knows that in the end it will be good for us. It is no fun to feel that way just like ¬†it was no fun for me to get pin-pricked and feel anxious like that but in the end it was a good thing. Isn’t it funny how I can look back now at something as simple as a shot and see that my parents put me through that for my own good? Isn’t it funny that when God puts us through things that cause us stress we often fail to see the good he is doing for us and for those around us?

I thought about how sometimes when we’re sick or when we just want to take preventative measures we have to go to the doctor and sometimes go through awkward and even painful experiences to get better and stay healthy. ¬†We let them do what they gotta do because we know that even if it hurts now, in the long run its good for us. ¬†I wondered why we sometimes trust an earthly doctor with earthly resources more than we trust our heavenly Father who made the earth. ¬†In Romans 5: 3-5 it says, “…. but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.” We all know of the suffering that Jesus had to endure on the cross for us. ¬†We know about some of the things that the apostles had to go through to spread the gospel. ¬†We know that somewhere today, someone is enduring persecution because they love God and want to serve him. ¬†Even though we know these things it doesn’t really help us grow just knowing about these things. God shows his love to us when he allows us to also experience the blessing of pain and suffering. Lets be thankful for hardship and respond as true Christians in a world that wants everything to come easy and ¬†thinks they deserve and are entitled to everything pleasant in this life.

God shows us through Paul the attitude we are to take in hardship :

” Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. ¬†But he has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. ¬†for when I am weak, then I am strong”

– 2 Corinthians 12:8-10

