I was reading through Jeremiah the other day and thinking about how God often counteracts a curse with a blessing. The most obvious one is the fall into sin and redemption through Jesus death. A lesser example and what I was thinking about the other day was weeds. Weeds were part of the fall into sin. God told man,

“Cursed is the ground because of you; through painful toil you will eat of it all the days of your life. It will produce thorns and thistles for you and you will eat the plants of the field. By the sweat of your brow you will eat your food until you return to the ground, since from it you were taken; for dust you are and to dust you will return.” – Genesis 3: 17b-19

Now heres what I was thinking.  Weeds are a pain in the butt. People come into my work every day trying to find ways to keep weeds out of  their lawns and gardens.  We sell them Round up and we sell them Killex. We sell them seeds and fertilizer to encourage grass growth so weeds don’t have room to grow. I used to do landscape maintenance and a good chunk of my time at work was spent pulling weeds.  Those weeds were pretty annoying sometimes. You spend hours pulling and raking weeds out of a bed only to come back next week and find them there again.  Despite all the irritating qualities of weeds God has turned it into something we can thank him for.  Without weeds a lot of people would be out of a job.  All the products we’re selling off of our shelves to get rid of weeds are putting food on many peoples tables. Weeds gave me work for a few summers. That means weeds are what paid for my schooling, for my gas, etc. etc.

Weeds get you outside and they get you busy in the dirt. I stand 100% behind the statement, “Close to earth, close to God”.  God teaches us many things through nature. Nature sings of God. Jesus often told parables using nature too, in fact in the parable of the sower He actually uses seeds, weeds, and soil to teach us.  I always think that weeds are a reminder of sin.  It struck me when I was doing maintenance one time. Like I said, every week we would go to the same sites and have to pull weeds again and again. It sometimes seemed like they grew back as fast as we could pull them. It felt comparable to sin in this way;  we pray and ask for forgiveness, we get our sins, our weeds, taken away and almost as quickly as our sins have been forgiven we go ahead and start committing more sin and the same kind of sins,  just the same way that those weeds, often the same kind of weeds, grow back.  Sometimes, if you let those weeds grow for too long they grow big and they get kind of  out of control. It gets harder to pull those weeds and you’d almost rather learn to live with them then try to weed them out. The struggle against weeds and sins seems to be endless and nearly impossible to control sometimes.  In the same way, we let certain sins have reign in our lives for too long sometimes and they get kind of big and out of control. We hold grudges for to long and we often keep going back to the same sins. We each have our own garden full of  weeds. In light of that, each of us need to continually go back every day to God’s throne of grace and ask him to take the weeds out of our lives.

Their is more to compare with weeds and sins; the way they take root, how they can strangle out good plants, and how the weeds can over take what was once a flourishing garden.  Weeds, like sin, can be very damaging should they be left unchecked and not dealt with.  Maybe next time you find yourself out in the garden or just walking by one, those little weeds will serve as a reminder to you to get back on your knees, to evaluate and re-evaluate your life and your sins. I know thats what they do for me.  Anyways, this feels like a bit of an abrupt ending to this post but I’m not feeling one hundred percento and its getting late  so I’m going to head to bed now. Before I go to sleep tonight I’m going to thank God for the weeds, for the work they provide and for the lessons I learn from them. Once again, thanks for reading, much love to you all. Goodnight!

