Life is fragile. Do you ever think about what it would be like to lose someone you love? I think about it. It seems I’ve been thinking about it more often lately, especially since there is a lot of distance between me and a lot of the people I love.  I worry about the time I’m losing with them while I’m out in Calgary living my life.  I know its not healthy to dwell on these things and its not like I always do, its just that the last few weeks it seems like its a topic that has just been coming up.  This past Sunday I was giving a hug to someone who just lost her mother.  Tonight when I went to work one of my co-workers, who is usually very happy and is always good for a laugh and a pick me up if your feeling blue was looking quite down. Before we even exchanged words of greeting I could sense some sort of stillness about him. I asked him right away what was wrong. He told me that his aunt and uncle had just died in a motorcycle accident yesterday.  They had two children.  When I got home later on I told one of my room mates about it and he said he had actually seen it on the news.

My heart breaks for other people when things like this happen. I can cry just thinking about losing someone I love. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like actually losing them. I had two separate conversations with two separate people within the last two weeks and I told both of them I had never lost anyone who was really close to me. Do you know what both of those people did? They did the whole “knock on wood” thing.  I didnt’ really think much of it when the first person did it but when the second person did that I started thinking to myself, ‘Wow, that is an awfully superstitious thing to do’.  I understand that they mean it more as a ‘may-that-not-happen” kind of thing, but still.  Why is that peoples reaction? Knocking on wood won’t change what God has in store for anyone.  Knocking on wood is not the right reaction. Its a faithless thing to say and do in my opinion. This verse comes to mind:

“Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow.  What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that”

-James 4:13-15 (NIV)

I felt bad for my co-worker. I asked him why he was working and if he wanted to go home I told him I would cover for him.  He told me he wanted to stay.  While I was sitting around waiting to see if they would start me or not he came over to me and sat down.  I looked over at him and I said, “Does everything seem petty to you right now?”  He said, “Yes.” I think I get that.  If I put myself in his shoes everything inside of me would be screaming out, ‘Someone died! some kids have no parents! someone lost a sister and a mother, a brother and a father!…and all you care about is that you need more dressing for your salad???’ At a time like that a lot of things just seem ridiculous in life. I think death is a wake up call to those who are still living.  Its a time when you gotta look at your life and ask yourself if you got your priorities straight, if you have good relationships and if you are spending your time wisely. We have to make sure our hearts are right before God. We can’t live in paranoia of death, neither can we ignore it since it is a reality.

Hymn 63 from my book of praise

I know in whom my hope is founded/ Through ever-changing day and night./ Thou hast me with Thy love surrounded;/Thou art my Rock, I trust Thy might./ When once life’s evening veils enshroud me,/ I’ll bring, though worn by ills and strife,/For every day Thou hast allowed me/Thee higher praise, O God of life!

One of my favorite songs even though I can’t hit the high notes:D

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see” -Hebrews 11:1

“For God did not appoint us to suffer wrath but to receive salvation through our Lord Jesus Christ.  He died for us so that, whether we are awake or asleep, we may live together with him.” -1 Thesselonians 5:20

That is all for today folks…thanks for stopping by…. much love to you all….

