This morning something a bit out of the ordinary happened, I guess you could say in more ways then one. Every day, Monday-Friday I do the opening shift at the cafe. This morning I was done going through all the major opening stuff before we were open for business so I sat down in a booth and was polishing and rolling cutlery.  One of my co-workers came by and set a drink down on the table.  She sat down and I could tell she was shaking and her face was flushed. Just before I opened my mouth to say goodmorning she blurts out, “My boyfriends brother is in the hospital just up the road, my friend just phoned me, he got stabbed in the heart…he’s in critical condition…I don’t know what to do, I can’t go see him because I’m not technically family, my boyfriend is an hour away, I can’t leave work because their is no one to cover for me until later…”. I couldnt’ do much but sit there with my eyebrows raised and my eyes wide open. I responded with, “That is horrible….”. She continued with her talking and she kept saying, “I don’t know what to do, I don’t know what to do”.

Right in that moment I was so compelled to pray with her but I felt kind of weird about it so I just said exactly what I was thinking. “You might think this is weird but do you wanna pray?”. She flicked her hands in the air and was like, “I don’t know, I don’t know, I don’t even know how to pray”. Then she just looked at me and said, “Okay, what do I do?” So I told her to just fold her hands and I said I would pray for her. So we bowed our heads together this morning in prayer.  It was so unusual because I did not have any time to think about what I was going to say in that prayer. I usually stumble over my words while I pray, even when I’ve had time to think about it, and to tell the absolute truth, the Fay I know would not normally have the guts to do this.  This words of this prayer came so smoothly out of my mouth. It felt like it wasn’t too short and neither did it feel too long.  I didn’t start shaking and my voice didnt’ crack the way it usually does. I didn’t ramble or repeat myself, I was succinct.  I honestly felt like God himself empowered me to pray with that girl this morning.

Later on in my day when I was thinking back on the morning and on that prayer it struck me that she would say she didn’t even know how to pray.  We take for granted the gift of prayer. We do it so often and we do it so much that sometimes it feels like a chore instead of a gift. Prayer is one of Gods richest gifts to us and we have the duty to share that richness along with the rest of the gospel. I will be the first to admit that it is one intimidating mandate to try and carry out but it feels so rewarding when you are given the strength to take a step in that direction when opportunities drop in your lap like that. I have a question I’d like to throw out to anyone who finds themselves reading this,

Do you think that God would rather you pray all the time for the sake of staying in the habit of talking to Him, even though your heart is not always in it? Or do you think He would rather you pray less often if it meant your heart was in it more when you did come before him in prayer?

Obviously the best would be if we could come to him often and always with heartfelt sincerity but if your anything like me, thats just not the case. I get distracted during prayer sometimes, or my prayers are rushed, or I skip praying altogether because I’m eating my toast while I’m putting my shoes on, finding my keys and trying to get out the door. Maybe other people are more organized then me. Regardless, what do you think?

 

